pec pic

Arie Wheeler Jones Bequeaths Major Endowment to Holman

Holman’s Permanent Endowment Committee (PEC) is entrusted with one of the most sacred tasks in the body of the church:  managing the gifts, usually an estate or a lump sum of cash, bequeathed to the church through a will.   Since the creation of the Holman Permanent Endowment Fund over 11 years ago, Holman has received many contributions, both great and small.  The first large contribution to the endowment fund was from the estate of Ruth Crockett in the amount of $348,000.00.  The Crockett estate established the foundation for the Holman Permanent Endowment fund.  Through the endowment fund, the church and its Christian education ministries continue to benefit from the generosity of the Crockett estate.

Arie Wheeler Jones passed away in May, 2010 at the age of 96, having led a full life of public and community service.  Her legacy of generosity and caring will continue through her gifts that will sustain many generations to come.  Holman PEC Chairman Wayne Moore was selected to be the executor of Mrs. Jones’ $1.7 million estate.  The bulk of Mrs. Jones’ estate was bequeathed to the four institutions that had the most impact on her life:  Huston-Tillotson University, University of Southern California, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority and Holman United Methodist Church.  From Mrs. Jones’ estate, the Holman Permanent Endowment Fund received its largest contribution ever – $363,080.00.

 Of the $363,080.00 unrestricted gift bequeathed to Holman, $300,580.00 will go into the Permanent Endowment Fund, $50,000.00 will go the Building and Maintenance Fund managed by the Board of Trustees, and $12,500.00 will be put in a matching fund to upgrade technology on the Church campus.  In addition, the Board of Trustees voted to contribute an additional $12,500.00 to increase the matching fund to $25,000.00. 

DOUBLE YOUR GIFT: Contribute to the Arie Wheeler Jones Matching Grant Campaign

Arie Wheeler Jones

Ruth Crockett and Arie Wheeler Jones are two examples of how well managed unrestricted gifts can continue to support the continued growth of the church and its ministries though activities and programs, providing educational scholarships for college and spiritual growth, facility upgrades and opportunities for job training.   The ripple effects of their endowments will be felt for generations to come.

The Board of Trustees voted to match the Permanent Endowment’s matching grant contribution of $12,500.00 from the Arie Wheeler’s estate. With the Trustees’ contribution of $12,500,00, the total matching grant is now $25,000.00.  The Board of Trustees and Permanent Endowment Committee invite Holman members to mobilize in a dollar for dollar matching drive of up to $25,000 by the end of March.  This will establish a fund
of up to $50,000.00 towards long overdue upgrades
in audio visual and communications technology in the Lawson Multipurpose Building including the Crockett Library, classrooms and LL White Hall.  Technology upgrades will also be made in the Edgar Love Education building including classrooms and meeting rooms, as well as eventually the main Sanctuary.

Through the $25,000.00 Arie Wheeler Jones Matching Grant Campaign set up by the Holman Permanent Endowment Committee and the Holman Board of Trustees, all Holman members have an opportunity to make a lasting contribution to Christian education through the upgrading of technology throughout the church campus.

The Board of Trustees has established a taskforce to develop the vision, strategy and implementation of this project.  Members can make extra-mile gifts to this special campaign by check and/or electronic payment to Holman United Methodist Church.  Please reference “Technology Campaign” in the memo line.

If you have any questions about the Arie Wheeler Jones Matching Grant Campaign, please contact Van Scott or Roland Harris.  For more information on the Holman Permanent Endowment Fund, the Holman PEC, or how you can contribute to the endowment fund, please contact PEC President Wayne Moore or any of the following PEC members:

Permanent Endowment Committee Members

Wayne Moore – Chairman

Reverend Kelvin Sauls – Senior Pastor

Alvin Pittman – Vice President

Teresa Mack – SecretaryVan Scott – Treasurer

Carla Hill – Trustee Board Chair

William Hardy – Finance Committee Chair

Aaron Eubanks – Church Council Chair Representative

Diane Griggs-Ross – At Large Member


Technology Task Force Members

Van Scott, Co-Chair

Roland Harris, Co-Chair

Minister Victor Cyrus-Franklin

Mary Boyd

Michael Jones

Deborah Mitchell

David Sears